Catching Up with Novel(las), New Year’s Resolutions & An Epic

I’ve been on quite a website sabbatical. It began when I started my first NaNoWriMo in November 2013 and when my second NaNoWriMo rolled around in 2014 I wondered why I hadn’t sooner returned to updating this thing in the slightest, other than a post about Free Comic Book Day. I had probably been satisfied in convincing myself the writing I had been doing was enough to clear my conscious of any thought of creative stagnation. But it was no real excuse, so here I am, back to take another swing at it. Hopefully, with any luck, I will start to keep this site up date, posting new snippets of work as I continue creating.

NaNoWriMo crest.

NaNoWriMo crest.

To Begin with a Recap: I took part in a couple NaNoWriMos, the second one of which finished as a novella while the first turned into a project much longer than 50,000 words and is currently sitting at 116,602 and will still likely grow a bit in the editing process.

The second project, the novella, was my first try at writing an epistolary work. I’ve read very few of these but the process has always intrigued me as difficult, challenging and exciting. I wrote a historical fiction about a WWI scientist tasked with creating a new chemical weapon who inadvertently becomes hunted as an enemy spy when he turns himself into a werewolf. I haven’t touched it since finishing, mostly because I’ve been focused on editing my other work, but I think I finished it strong.

The first project, which is still ongoing, is a post-apocalytpic sci-fi western about a young girl and her medical service robot traversing a desolate future North America. I tried to emulate both western and sci-fi elements, but never really fall into either genre. I think it’s pretty good and I’ve been taking much longer than I should to edit it but I hope to be done soon so I can send it out for some friends to read and provide feedback.

In all, I’ve been pleased with the work, but not so much with my sluggish timeline and output. Procrastination is a muse we all rarely covet, but gladly embrace. I aim to be more diligent in crafting a strict writing schedule in the future.

New Year’s Resolutions (and Keeping Them!): I don’t usually make a New Year’s resolution, probably for the same reason many don’t which is I never really keep them. This year I actually made one, for the first time in a decade or so: To Write a Poem Every Day for 365 Days. I’ve done amazingly well. I missed a few days so far, then caught up by writing two the following day, but I’ve allowed those hiccups as part of the fluid process. It’s fitting I should make this post today to relay this information, because April is Poetry Month, so maybe I should up my ante to two-poems-a-day for April?

Addendum – The Neverlast: This last bit of news ties into my resolution. I figure since I will be writing a poem every day for the whole year, why not try to work towards a secondary goal as well? A goal within a goal. Goalception, if you will. Each week from here on out I will attempt to write at least one piece of a larger narrative, which will be my first stab at an epic poem. I don’t have many of the details sorted out yet, but you can bet it will be rife with the usual tropes. If you’ve made it this far, here’s part one for you to take a peak at.

Where our hero begins her journey.

Where our hero begins her journey.

The Neverlast I

The newborn struggles, frigid
against the lingering spring frost.
Svelte and fragile
she wails amidst the frozen
dewdrop enemies
of the forest bed.
Her calls pierce the lucid calm and
rushing aid comes in the form of
fauns and cygnets, spartan
in their cocoon of warmth.

Our elvish champion:
born without a mother,
sired without a father
and here we begin.

Finally, if you’re reading this at all: thanks. You’re one of very few, I can assure you. But what writer can ever hope to be labelled successful if they aren’t like Sisyphus to begin? It’s all part of the process.

Expect more soon!
-B.W. Gladney

Leave a Reply

